Draw of the African Cup of Nations: The groups of 24 teams known

It’s done! Each of the soccer teams participating in the African Cup of Nations to be held in Cameroon in 2022 is now set on its opponents, after a draw ceremony completed Tuesday night in Yaounde.
The CAN is scheduled from January 9 to February 6, 2022.
Algeria, title holder, was the big fish to avoid. Cameroon, Senegal and Tunisia are also contenders for the title, as seeded alongside Morocco and Nigeria. A status that does not have Egypt, yet seven times champion (record), Ghana, Ivory Coast and Mali, the main outsiders of this CAN.
For this second CAN with 24 nations, the teams are distributed in six pools of four teams each. The first, second and four best thirds of each group will advance to the round of 16. Cameroon is hosting this great soccer festival for the first time in 50 years.

Gambia and Comoros are participating for the first time.

Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde
Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi
Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon
Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea Bissau
Group E: Algeria, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast
Group F: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

The opening match will be between Cameroon and Burkina Faso on January 9, 2022.

About Khalid Al Mouahidi 4341 Articles
Khalid Al Mouahidi : A binational from the US and Morocco, Khalid El Mouahidi has worked for several american companies in the Maghreb Region and is currently based in Casablanca, where he is doing consulting jobs for major international companies . Khalid writes analytical pieces about economic ties between the Maghreb and the Mena Region, where he has an extensive network