Gulf Cooperation Council reiterates firm support for Morocco’s sovereignty over its Sahara

Foreign Ministers of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries reaffirmed, Sunday March 3, the unwavering positions, and steadfast decisions of the GCC Supreme Council supporting the Moroccan sovereignty over the Sahara and the preservation of peace and security of Morocco.

These commitments that also endorse the autonomy initiative as the only solution to the settlement of the Sahara conflict within the framework of Morocco’s sovereignty and national and territorial integrity were reaffirmed during the ministerial joint meeting, which brought together Sunday at the headquarters of the GCC Secretariat General in Riyadh, the Foreign Affairs Ministers of the GCC countries and their Moroccan peer Nasser Bourita.

The Foreign Minister of Qatar and chairman of the current session of the GCC, Mohammed bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al Thani, underlined that the Council countries reaffirm their unwavering support for the Moroccan sovereignty over the Sahara and their firm attachment to the kingdom’s territorial integrity, as well as their support for relevant UN decisions.

For his part, GCC Secretary General Jasem Mohammed Al-Budaiwi reiterated the Council’s positions and resolutions supporting the Moroccan sovereignty over the Sahara and highlighting the importance of the strategic cooperation between the GCC and Morocco.

The Gulf Cooperation Council also welcomed the nomination of the Kingdom of Morocco for membership in the United Nations Security Council for the term 2028-2029.

The joint meeting also emphasized the importance of intensifying efforts to implement the joint action plans agreed upon within the framework of the strategic partnership between the two sides.

This meeting is part of the strong relations and the comprehensive and renewed strategic partnership between Morocco and the GCC countries, whose foundations were laid by King Mohammed VI and the leaders of the GCC member countries, at the Morocco-GCC Summit, held on April 20, 2016 in Riyadh.

The GCC is made up of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.