Guinean opposition publishes list of people to be excluded from transition

The coalition that led the mobilization against the third term of now-deposed Guinean President Alpha Conde released a list of about 100 people, calling for their exclusion from public affairs and the transition.

The list, made public Friday, includes many members of the former government, among whom former Prime Minister Ibrahima Kassory Fofana and former Defense Minister Mohamed Diané, police and gendarmerie commanders, judges, including the president of the constitutional court, prosecutors, governors, and prefects.

All are accused by the National Front for the Defense of the Constitution (FNDC), a coalition of political and civil society movements, of having allowed Mr. Conde to obtain a controversial third term in October 2020 as president of this West African country.

They are liable to prosecution “before a competent court of the African Union” (AU), FNDC leader Ibrahima Diallo told a news conference.

The list, preceded by a text calling for all those named to be “banned from the transition,” was then to be handed to Colonel Mamady Doumbouya, head of the junta’s “National Committee for Rally and Development” (CNRD).

Before the September 5 coup against Conde, Colonel Doumbouya and the gendarmerie commander for the Conakry region, Colonel Balla Samoura, both members of the junta, were on similar FNDC lists as those responsible for the Conde regime’s repression.


About Khalid Al Mouahidi 4410 Articles
Khalid Al Mouahidi : A binational from the US and Morocco, Khalid El Mouahidi has worked for several american companies in the Maghreb Region and is currently based in Casablanca, where he is doing consulting jobs for major international companies . Khalid writes analytical pieces about economic ties between the Maghreb and the Mena Region, where he has an extensive network